top of page

McGowan and Casey dominate in Grange 10k

The 33rd annual Grange 10k was held in ideal weather conditions on Sunday last, a dry calm autumn morning greeted the runners on this lovely course setting an equal distance between Streedagh strand and Benbulbin Mountain.

Feidhlim McGowan last year's winner and holder of the Paddy Brennan Plaque returned to defend his title and also try and erase the course record 32min 27 sec he set last year. The 30-year-old North Sligo runner who set a PB in the Dublin Half Marathon of 69 min 29 sec 2 weeks ago set a strong pace from the start and opened up a lead from the first kilometre which he increased with each sequence kilometre and he crossed the finished line in 32 min 53sec with 1 min37 sec to spare over 2nd placed Dessie Foley 34 min 30 sec and 3rd placed Conor Brennan 34 min 59 sec who both ran quality races. Craig Brennan won the over 40 category in 36 min 29 secs with North Sligo clubmates Alan Wallace and Peter Gallagher 2nd and 3rd. Eamon Murphy had a great run winning the over 50 category in a great time of 36 min 39 sec with Tommy Kelly finishing 2nd.

Nicola Casey was a convincing winner of the women's race in 41 min 32 sec she had almost 1 min to spare over 2nd placed Valeria Petrova who finished strongly in 42 min 31 sec with Marita McMorrow 3rd. Suzanne O'Beirne won the over 40 age group convincingly in 45 min 7 sec, Aisling Leydon and Aisling Cawley were 2nd and 3rd in 49min 1 sec and 51 min 45 sec. Cindy McCarthy won the over 50 category in 50 min 37 sec with Pauline Hunt Gorman running 51 min 45 sec to take the 2nd spot Eamon Murphy won the over 50 category in 36 min 39 sec with Tommy kelly 2nd in 37 min 20 sec. Amy Harkin won the junior women's prize in 48 min 6 sec.

The North Sligo AC committee would like to thank to all those who gave spot prizes, supplied food and cakes, etc and everyone who helped with the smooth running of the event.



bottom of page